Executive Board


Dr. Shadawn Salmond-Jimenez

President – Elect

Dr. David L. Handel

Vice President

Dr. Matthew Keats

Immediate Past President

Dr. Elizabeth Cottrell

AVMA Delegate

Dr. Andrew O’Carroll

AVMA Alternate Delegate

Dr. Jennifer Krueger

Directors At Large

Director At Large

Dr. Robert D. Silcox

Director At Large

Dr. Richard (Rich) Streett, III

Delegates / Alternate Delegates

Anne Arundel County Delegate

Dr. Lacy GilMurray

Eastern Shore Delegate

Dr. Marianne Bailey

Harford County Delegate

Dr. Carvel G. Tiekert

Harford County Alternate Delegate

Dr. John V. Moffa

Western Maryland Delegate

Dr. Carolyn Cornett

Western Maryland Alternate Delegate

Dr. Cathy Emery

Practice Representatives

Equine Practice

Dr. James Casey

Food Animal Practice

Dr. Matthew Weeman

Government / Corporate / Academic Practice

Dr. Laura Hungerford

Poultry Practice

Dr. Nathaniel L. Tablante

Small Animal Practice

Dr. Santiago Jimenez Gonzalez

Committee Chairpersons

Budget (NV)

Dr. David L. Handel

Continuing Education (NV)

Dr. Robert Silcox

Membership (NV)

Dr. Elizabeth Hepner

Nominations and Awards (NV)

Dr. David L. Handel

Public Relations (NV)

Dr. Nicole Fenner

Veterinary College (NV)

Dr. Kelly Underwood

Honorary Board Representatives

AVMA District II Representative (NV)

Dr. Michael Bailey

Maryland State Veterinarian (NV)

Dr. Michael Odian

Technicians Representative (NV)

Dr. Carol Schwartz

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners – Board Member (NV)

Dr. Elizabeth D. Callahan

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners – Executive Director (NV)

Vanessa Orlando


MDVMA Executive Director (NV)

Marisa Francis

MDVMA Director of Education & Events (NV)

Christine Gocono

Legal Counsel & Lobbyist (NV)

Moira Moynihan Cyphers
Compass Government Relations Partners, LLC

*(NV) = Non-Voting

Want to get involved? Learn about our committees.